As usual, I came across a fare sale to a destination that interested me, which is how I ended up in Morocco in late May earlier this year.

 

Rabat and Essaouira are both beautiful – and maybe I should have done more of the coastal cities

I loved both cities; they were easily my favourite part of the trip. The weather had something to do with it too: it was too hot in Marrakesh (more on that later.) I made my itinerary so that, after Essaouira, I circled back through Marrakesh – which I had already visited – to return to Casablanca for my return flight. In hindsight, I would have went up the coast from Essaouira if I do it over again. I  loved the laidback vibe of both cities.

DSC00994
There is a terrace cafe at the top of the Porte Des Oudayas. Stop there for a cup of mint tea – and the view
DSC00982
Boys in Rabat – they purposely got my attention to have their picture taken
DSC01095
It’s not exactly Ephesus, which I visited last year, but it was another pleasant walk through old ruins in Rabat
DSC01252
Essaouira

 

You can walk through the Medinas without a guide

As this was my first trip to Morocco, I didn’t know what to expect. Some of the guide books suggested hiring a local guide for the larger medinas such as Marrakesh. I didn’t, and the truth is that I quite enjoyed wandering around. I’m sure that the experience may be more rewarding with someone explaining the history and stories, but isn’t getting lost part of the fun of traveling too?

For the record, I never actually got lost (ok, not entirely – I did have to double back and start over once) and I never felt threatened inside the medina either – I think they’re safe enough, just so long as you’re not acting like an oblivious tourist, of course.

DSC00945
Medina in Rabat
DSC01248
Inside the Marrakech medina

 

The Jemaa el Fna in Marrakech at night was like nothing else I’ve experienced elsewhere

The guide books will tell you that night market is an unique experience – and everything you read about it is true. I’ve been to night markets in Asian countries were night markets are popular, and I’ve traveled to Europe: the Grote Markt in Belgium, Las Ramblas in Barcelona, etc. This was easily the most intense experience, by far. Definitely make a point of going there on your first night in Marrakesh.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Check the weather – I thought it was already too hot for May in Marrakesh

The first question I got asked by a friend who went to Morocco before I did – and one of the first questions I got asked by others about my experience – was, what did I think of the weather?

It was too hot for me in Marrakesh. And I went in late May. I didn’t do the dessert trip, and in hindsight I was glad that I didn’t.

 

You really can skip Casablanca

While Casablanca may have the most famous name of Moroccan cities thanks to its namesake movie, most guide books suggest to skip out immediately after arriving in the country. I followed suit, and didn’t go to Casablanca until the last day of my trip. Even with just one day, I’m not sure if I missed anything. So budget your time for any of the other cities instead.

DSC01356
The Hassan II Mosque is impressive, but you can easily explore it in just a couple hours. I visited on the morning of my departure.